By using Apprenticeforums services you agree to our Cookies Use and Data Transfer outside the EU.
We and our partners operate globally and use cookies, including for analytics, personalisation, ads and Newsletters.

• Join our UK Small business Forum

Helping business owners with every day advice, tips and discussions with likeminded business owners. Become apart of a community surrounded by level headed business folk from around the UK

Join us!

Starting a Letting Agent Business

C

cleaningbiz

Hi, I have been running a cleaning agency for the last 5 years now and it has been very successful! It is more or less running itself now and I am looking to expand into other things.

I have a few properties of my own that I have been managing and renting out for the last 10 years and I feel I would be more than able to do it for other people. I'm just not very sure how to go about it! I know I don't need any qualifications to open an agency but does anyone know of any courses etc in the Glasgow area that may be helpful or can anyone offer any advice and tips.

All comments appreciated!! Many thanks.

Mike Lewis

Mike Lewis

I guess that certain aspects will be the same as with any other business. First and foremost, you need to make sure there will be a demand for your services. Find out how many private landlords there are in your area, how many other agencies are already serving them, and what added value you can provide that will put you ahead of the competition.

Then there's the question of costs: will you be able to get enough business - at a high enough price - to cover your overheads?

These are all areas that should be covered on a course for new businesses. But you might want to think hard about these sort of questions even before you start looking for a course (assuming you have not already done so, of course).

Mike

Alan @ localbizmarketing

Alan @ localbizmarketing